Natskyggevej Trippers

Søg i denne blog

torsdag den 23. februar 2012

Secret Öyster - s/t - 1973 (Den) Jazz Fusion

Secret Öyster formed in 1972 when Burnin' Red Ivanhoe split-up. You could actually consider Secret Öyster a supergroup as the members came from three separate bands. The group's personnel at this point was Karsten Vogel of Burnin' Red Ivanhoe (soprano axophone, alto saxophone & organ), Claus Böhling of Hurdy Gurdy (guitars), Kenneth Knudsen of Coronarias Dans (electric and acoustic pianos), Mads Vinding (bass) and Bo Thrige Andersen (drums). Secret Öyster would face many changes in the line-up, but I am not gonna focus on that now. I'll continue the band's story in my next post about the band. Anyway, Secret Öyster would became one of the most succesful Scandinavian jazz fusion groups and is as far as I'm concerned the only Danish band to ever perform on BBC's "the Old Grey Whistle Test". Their music would bring them to tour with the likes of Herbie Hancock, Weather Report and Captain Beefheart (among others).

This is their debut record (and a great one at that too). It features both up-tempo rock songs as well as more jazzy mellow parts, which remind one of the Canterbury scene. It is really heavy at some points and it is easy to hear that Hendrix still is the main influence for guitarist Claus Böhling, though he becomes more indepedent throughout his years with Secret Öyster. Overall it is really hard rock meets jazz with oustanding pianowork, excellent melodies and riffs, dreamy "uncrontrolable" saxophones and a rather scary ending, and most importanly it never gets boring to listen to. Like the other three albums, the album was reissued in 2007.

1. Dampexpressen (the Steam Express)
2. Fire & Water
3. Vive La Quelle
4. Blazing Lace
5. Public Öyster
6. Mis(s) Fortune
7. Ova-X

Bitrate: 128kbps

Ingen kommentarer:

Send en kommentar